#PITMAD

I had my very first experience with pitching my novel on twitter yesterday. Talk about a challenge! Trying to make my book interesting in 140 characters was unfathomably difficult. That’s not words, folks; that’s 140 characters: spaces, letters, punctuation! H.A.R.D.

Despite my best efforts, no agent requested pages of my story for review. From 8 am EST to 6 pm EST yesterday I tweeted my little heart out and watched as my hopes were dashed hourly. I’ll be honest and say it makes me want to throw up a littleย and cry a lot.

Still, I learned so much, and I made some new twitter friends (some of whom are now my blog friends, too)! They stepped up to the challenge and faced it with impressive skill (and dare I say, faith). I’m so excited for those who got page requests; their pitches helped me learn how to perfect mine.

I’m not so bummed as to quit trying. I know there will be another pitch opportunity coming in June. And, I have a writer’s conference to attend in May. You can bet I’ll be flexing my writing muscles in preparation.

Kudos to Brenda Drake for making this happen. Thanks to all the agents who took a look. I’ll be watching my new writing friends careers with excitement!

Write on!!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “#PITMAD

  1. Definitely don’t give up. It is HARD to twitter pitch. i participated in my first twitter pitch party in January (also a Brenda Drake production) and got no requests. I made a lot of friends who are now beta, CPs, etc. This time around I got 2 requests. Stick in there. The twitter writing community is very supportive. I am now following you on twitter so feel free to mesage me anytime:)

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement! The twitter folks really are great! I hope your requests become a publishing contract! Maybe next time (I hear there will be a #PitchMAS in July) I can toss a few pitches at you for review beforehand?! All the best!

  2. I completely agree with pmkester–don’t let this get you down and definitely don’t give up. Pitching of any kind is extraordinarily difficult, and fitting everything into less than 140 characters even more so.

    Keep on keeping on! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Just like Sam o Rama.. keep pitchin’ That first pitch may be a ball, but the next three might be strikes! And this is those california rules. First strike and you got it! Papi is proud of you guys.

  4. Hey! What was your pitch? I want to see it.

    • I had a few:

      13yo Brigid can’t fathom how she can be a Changeling. This incredible identity promises friends and skills that will test her.

      In one day, 13yo Brigid learns she’s an elf, not her parents’ child, and she can talk to trees. So much for fitting in.

      13yo Brigid is whisked away with six other “kids” to the Changeling Alliance to learn how to be elves–oh, and how not to die.

      What links National Park Services, UFO lights, Changelings? Pursuing the answer, 13 yo Brigid will learn truths about herself.

      In a fantastical Changeling world, 13yo Brigid traverses a dangerous path; her greatest challenge and prize: who she is becoming

      13yo Brigid, panflute-playing introvert, prefers trees to people. She’ll have to open up to understand her new identity: “Elf”

      If you’d like to see my query, I’ll email it to you.

  5. First off… Be proud of yourself! You threw yourself into the virtual writing cage and demanded attention from agents. That takes guts girl! I first entered Pitmad a few months ago and I got no bites. Last night, I got three! I was floored, and very humbled. But in the few months since the last Pitmad I have learned a lot, and sad but true it was rejection that taught me how to make my story work. Writing is rewriting, it’s forcing your words to be noticed. Agents really prefer if you “show” them, rather than “tell” them. That’s a concept I think I’m really only beginning to understand. At the end of the day find the essence of your story, and try to say it in a clever way… perhaps a question… one that will get the agent thinking, “I need to know the answer to that pitch!”
    Now having said that, back to my original thoughts… You put yourself out there and bared your idea to the world. That is very brave, and you really need to take a deep breath and just say, “I did it!” You already are farther than most people ever will be. You are taking the steps to making your dream a reality!
    Now that you have an idea of what Pitmad is like, you have time to play around with your pitch. Think of it like flirting, you’re trying to get someone’s attention. Have FUN with it. I wish you nothing but the best on your literary journey. If you ever want to chat, or even vent. Please feel free! Remember Winston Churchill: “NEVER GIVE UP!”
    Also, if you’re interested, here’s some blog writing I did on my “road to rejection” a few months ago. ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://quillscorner.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/the-newborn-novel/

    • Thank you for the great pep talk. I needed it. All my new writer friends are such an encouragement. It’s good to be encouraged by loved ones, but it’s nice to really identify with people who know what you are feeling. I am grateful!

      Oh, and your message made perfect sense, despite the dancing 7 year old. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. What a great attitude you have! I found my agent in one of these contests, so I know they’re definitely worth doing, but the emotional toll if all the rejections we face add writers is brutal. All we can do is keep going. Good luck to you.

    • Thanks, Heather! It is hard to learn to grow thick skin, but I try to tell myself it’s part if the process. (Plus, my husband has a really comfortable shoulder to cry on. ๐Ÿ˜‰)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

