Discouragment

I’ve sent my query and first few pages to a couple of literary agents over the last several months.  I can honestly say the process is a disappointing one.  Some actually respond to let you know you’ve been rejected.  The others allow you to sit and wring your hands with no response at all — the silent rejection.  I don’t know which one I prefer yet.  So, I’ve had five rejections so far.  I’ve sent off my query to another agent with hope springing anew each time.  I don’t know how many to query.  I don’t know exactly who to query.  I just keep looking folks up and hoping I hit the right person.  If you’re out there, dear literary agent, I am looking for you.  I have a manuscript for you.  I hope you like it.  Please, oh please.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Discouragment

  1. johannelyhne

    Have you tried buying Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook? There is list of all the literary agents in the UK and the USA and other countries as well. It’s a good way to get an overview because the internet sometimes only lists the BIG ones unless you really keep your eyes open. I have been rejected numerous times too and it’s incredibly discouraging but, the thing is, if you just keep on writing then one day – in twenty years or next month – you will be published 😉

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Johanne. I will check it out. I sure hope it isn’t the next twenty years! All the best to you and to your pursuits with your manuscript!!

  2. Agreed, the Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook is an EXCELLENT resource… as well as a book that was published by a UK agent who has been in the business for years. Her insight is quite interesting, and she even gets into topics such as the best time of year to make your pitch, as well as what to do if you don’t find an agent. The book is called ‘From Pitch to Publication’ by Carole Blake. Must say, I think her clients are very lucky… wish I was one of them! Try not to get discouraged… plug along… trying to find the best fit. I’m presently considering all options… and am presently beginning my agent search. Hope this helps. Best wishes!

    • Bellanda, thank you for the encouragement and the follow. I look forward to reading your blog. What a fascinating life you live.

      All the best!

  3. Rosie Perera

    Maybe hearing of all the rejection letters some famous authors received will be of some encouragement: http://cristianmihai.net/2012/05/21/famous-rejection-letters/

  4. It will be okay 🙂 Just don’t give up trying. It may take 100 queries (I hope not!) but eventually someone will say yes! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

