Pixar Exemplar

Read another interesting and helpful article on Writer’s Digest this morning. The author referenced a blog post that listed tweets (twenty-two to be exact) posted by Emma Coats, one of Pixar’s storyboard artists. Each is a great little snippet of wisdom to help a writer traverse the vast unknown that is one’s story. I think I will print it out and put it in my writing folder so I can look at it when things start to blur in my mind. I’ll share a few to which I really related:

#2: You gotta keep in mind what’s interesting to you as an audience, not what’s fun to do as a writer. They can be v. different. (I’m constantly reminding myself that I know everything about my world and my characters, but my readers don’t. I can get all fancy and over explain it, but my reader just might very well hate that. So…audience, audience, audience!)

#4: Once upon a time there was ___. Every day, ___. One day ___. Because of that, ___. Because of that, ___. Until finally ___. (Awesome. Simple. Love it.)

#5: Simplify. Focus. Combine characters. Hop over detours. You’ll feel like you’re losing valuable stuff but it sets you free. (A literary agent whose blogs (here & here) I LOVE says frequently, “Murder your darlings.” It sounds cruel and is difficult to do, but sometimes those things have to go. I’m still learning how to do that.)

Finally:

#7: Come up with your ending before you figure out your middle. Seriously. Endings are hard, get yours working up front. (This is so true. Fortunately, I did that with my story and the pieces fell into place around it. Great, great advice!)

I could repost every single tweet from Ms. Coats on here. They are all so helpful. I’m grateful to have come upon them today and know for a fact I will refer back to them again and again. They really are worth the read if you are wanting to write.

Categories: Perspective | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

